Local Train

About Mumbai Local Train:

  • Operating Area: Mumbai
  • Started operations: 1857
  • System length: 303 kms
  • Daily Ridership: 6.1 million
  • Operated by: Western Railways and Central Railways

More Information About Mumbai Local Trains:

Local Trains are the major means of transport in Mumbai. Most of the city-dwellers rely on Mumbai Suburban Railway to travel within the metropolis. The extensive network of Railways has three lines, namely the Western Line, the Central Main Line and the Harbour Line. Being a linear city, Mumbai is totally covered by local train network. The area from Churchgate to Virar is covered under the Western line via Western Suburbs, while the Central Main Line starts from Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (CST) and travels to Kalyan through the Central Suburbs and Thane. Kurla is the interchange point with the Central Main Line. Between Mumbai CST and Vadala, there is a common stretch of the Harbour Line. However, this line divides into two spurs, the major one heads for the Eastern Suburbs, Navi Mumbai and eventually Panvel, while the other one goes till Mahim on the Western Line and runs parallel upto Andheri. Its interchange stations are sited at Bandra and Andheri. Mumbai local train, part of the public transport of Mumbai carries more than 7 million commuters on a daily basis. It is spread over 464 route kilometers. It is divided into 3 zones – Western railway, Central railway and Harbour railway. All the local trains start operations usually after 04:00 hours in the morning and close maximum by 01:00 hours. Traveling in second class is definitely very cheap, but it is exceptionally crowded. For tourists, it is better to travel in the expensive first class, rather than experience any trouble in the economy class. During rush, office or peak hours, one should avoid traveling in local trains because they are jam-packed. The Mumbai local train has one of the highest passenger densities of any public transport system in the world. The Virar locals are famous for being over crowded, and people travelling short distances always try and avoid them. Here, you can find all the time tables – western railway timetable, central railway timetable and harbour railway timetable. The peak hours extend from 08:30 till 10:30 towards CST and Churchgate and from 17:30 to 20:30 pm in the opposite direction. For women, there are special coaches on both classes in all the trains. They are quite better and safer than the common ones. Local trains are the most common and easy means to travel in the city. In case, there is a group of people, then prefer taxis and auto-rickshaws over local trains in Mumbai.

Mumbai Local Train Time Tables and Local Train Routes :

Browse By Western Line,Central Line and Harbour Line:

Western Line

Central Line

Harbour Line

Churchgate to Virar CST to Thane CST to Andheri
Churchgate to Borivali CST to Kalyan CST to Bandra
Churchgate to Andheri CST to Ambernath Bandra to CST
Churchgate to Bandra CST to Badlapur Andheri to CST
Churchgate to Malad CST to Kasara Panvel to Andheri
Churchgate to Goregaon Thane to CST Andheri to Panvel
Churchgate to Bhayandar Kalyan to CST CST to Vashi
Virar to Churchgate Ambernath to CST CST to Belapur
Virar to Borivali Badlapur to CST CST to Panvel
Virar to Andheri Kasara to CST Panvel to CST
Virar to Bandra CST to Karjat Vashi to CST
Virar to Dadar Dadar to Thane Wadala to Panvel
Borivali to Churchgate CST to Kurla Vashi to Panvel
Andheri to Churchgate CST to Titwala Belapur to CST
Bandra to Churchgate Karjat to CST Thane to Vashi
Goregaon to Churchgate Dombivali to CST Vashi to Thane
Malad to Churchgate Kurla to CST
Bhayandar to Churchgate Titwala to CST
Dadar to Virar Thane to Dadar
Bandra to Virar
Andheri to Virar
Borivali to Virar
Churchgate to Vasai
Mahalaxmi to Borivali
Andheri to Borivali
Dadar to Borivali
Bandra to Borivali
Andheri to Vasai
Vasai to Churchgate
Vasai to Andheri

Mumbai Local Train Time Tables and Local Train Routes :

Browse By Stations:

Churchgate Virar C.S.T
Thane Andheri Borivali
Kalyan Bandra Ambernath
Badlapur Malad Kasara
Panvel Goregaon Bhayandar
Vashi Belapur Karjat
Dadar Wadala Kurla
Titwala Dombivali Vasai

Mumbai Local Train Map: (Click on Map To Zoom)

Leave a Reply